I survived my first semester of Grad School

Standard

I just survived my first semester in Grad School. (Whoop Whoop!!!)  It was not as easy as I thought it would be.  I had to balance a full-time job, part-time volunteering, and classes.  On top of that, I wanted to make new friends and be in a happy relationship with my boyfriend.

I am relatively new to the area where I live. I have been there for about 3 years. However, because people in this area know each other for so long, it is hard to break into new groups.  I signed up with the website Meetup.com, and I joined a few groups with similar interests.  I have met a few people that I kept in touch with.

My new acquaintances are not up for the game.  I am a party girl.  I miss clubbing, dancing, drinking , laughing.  I miss my college friends who could go all night dancing with me, and we would stay up talking until sunset.  I miss the sisterhood, the long walks with my roommate to clear my head, and the spontaneous laughs. The new girls are more mellow and laid back.  They are at a different stage of their lives, they cannot go party all night or jump on a plane last minute.  They are great people, but I need the thrill of fresh and crazy new ideas.

On the other hand, I am so busy in my current life, that I would not have time for crazy good plans. It is where my dilemma lies, I want the college life back, however I cannot live this life anymore.  I have too many responsibilities.  I need to work on transitioning out of college life into the life of a young adult.

I live close to my Alma mater.  It also does not help that I live 30 minutes away from the college that I attended for my undergrad studies.  I have one friend who lives on campus and invites me over often.  I feel like I have not really moved out to better things or accomplished anything.  I want the good college life back, yet I want to spread my wings and fly far away and see the world.

In two years, I want to have found a job abroad.  I should finish my studies in two years. In the meantime, I will look for ways to find a position in Mexico, Brazil, Turkey, UK, or Australia (hopefully in my field).

Life is made for living!!!

Leave a Reply

